Latapy names provisional squad for Digicel qualifiers

Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Latapy names provisional squad for Digicel qualifiersThe overseas quartet of Puerto Rico Islanders’ Kendall Jagdeosingh, his clubmate Keon Daniel, DC United’s Julius James and Yohance Marshall of LA Galaxy, have been named in a 20-man squad for the second round Group F Digicel Caribbean Cup qualifiers next week.

The squad selected by Soca Warriors coach Russell Latapy, moved into a live-in camp at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Wrightson Road, yesterday, minus the four overseas players who are due to arrive later this week for the tournament.

The tournament to be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo from November 2-6 will feature hosts, T&T, Haiti, Guyana and St Vincent and The Grenadines.

From the four-team tournament, the top two will qualify for the eight-team finals in Martinique from November 26 to December 5. Missing from the Soca Warriors squad is speedy striker Cornell Glen, who is out due to injury.

Glen who started up front with Devon Jorsling in T&T’s last international match, a 1-0 loss away to Jamaica on October 11, also missed the Earthquakes final MLS regular season 4-1 loss to Kansas City Wizards on Saturday with the injury.

In his absence, Defence Force striker Jorsling who has netted four goals in his last eight international appearances will spearhead the attack alongside W Connection’s Shahdon Winchester, bmobile Joe Public’s Kerry Baptiste and former Under-20 striker, Jamal Gay.

Jagdeosingh and Baptiste, who return from injury are the only two newcomers in the team from the Jamaica loss.

Other notable inclusions include captain Clyde Leon, Densill Theobald, Trent Noel, Hayden Tinto, Anthony Wolfe and goalkeepers, Jan-Michael Williams and Marvin Phillip. With Glen out, Wolfe and Theobald are the only members of the 2006 Germany Fifa World Cup in the squad.


Jan-Michael Williams (W Connection), Marvin Phillip (Joe Public).

Julius James (DC United), Yohance Marshall (LA Galaxy), Kern Cupid (W Connection), Daneil Cyrus (Caledonia AIA), Joevin Jones (W Connection).

Clyde Leon (W Connection), Trent Noel (Joe Public), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Keon Daniel (Puerto Rico Islanders), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Lester Peltier (Ma Pau FC), Kendall Jagdeosingh (Puerto Rico Islanders).

Devon Jorsling (Defence Force), Jamal Gay (unknown), Kerry Baptiste (Joe Public), Shahdon Winchester (W Connection).

Digicel Second Round

Group F fixtures
Venue: Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo

Tuesday Nov 2
Haiti vs Guyana, 5pm
T&T vs St Vincent/Gren, 7.30pm

Thursday Nov 4
St.Vincent/Gren vs Haiti, 5pm
T&T vs Guyana, 7.30pm

Saturday Nov 6
Guyana vs St Vincent/Gren, 4pm
T&T vs Haiti, 6.30pm