Full FA Trophy 2017 venues and times; holders N/E Stars to face Siparia Spurs in Palo Seco plus more

Derek King (dressed in black) and his North East Stars bunch during a training session in Tacarigua. (Photo courtesy North East Stars)

Title holders North East Stars must travel to second tier club Siparia Spurs from 4pm at the Palo Seco Recreation Ground in Palo Seco on Saturday when the 2017 FA Trophy competition kicks off with Round of 64 action on September 16 and 17. 

It is one of eight pairings that includes Pro League clubs against lower league sides, while Central FC are against Morvant Caledonia United from 4pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Saturday in the only all-Pro League clash of the Round of 64.

The 2017 FA Trophy will involve all ten (10) Pro League clubs, nineteen (19) Super League sides, six (6) each from the Northern FA, Eastern FA, Central FC, Southern FA and Tobago FA, and five (5) from the Eastern Counties Football Union (ECFU)—all hoping to advance to the TT$100,000 final.

The overall champions will, in fact, walk away with a total purse of TT$135,000 due to—for the first time in the tournament which have gone without prize money in its last few editions—a prize structure that will see winning teams of the Round of 64, Round of 32, Round of 16, Quarter finals, and Semi Finals earn TT$3,000., TT$5,000., TT$7,000., TT$9,000. and TT$11,000. respectively.

“It’s a great motivator for all the clubs involved, knowing the current situation clubs are in for financial support,” said North East Stars head coach Derek King following the prize structure announcement last month.

Ewing Davis, vice president of the tournament organizers, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), said, back then, that the competition stood without a sponsor and the prize monies would have to come from the FA.

Teams will also benefit from gate receipts through to the quarter final round before the FA takes control for the semi-final and final stages.

Spurs are currently tenth on the Super League’s division one standings while North East Stars are top of the Pro League standings.

Stars coach, King, said his team will “try our best to be ready when the FA Trophy comes around. We are the defending champions.

“We also know that the FA Trophy is tough; it’s a knockout tournament and you have to be on top your game not taking anyone for granted. Some teams in the Super League are good challenges for Pro League opponents.”

Two years ago, when the competition was last contested, North East Stars, led by former coach Angus Eve, won their second FA Trophy by defeating four-time former winners W Connection 5-4 on penalties following a 0-0 draw at the Ato Boldon Stadium on March 29, 2015.

King also FA Trophy success when he defeated Connection in the 2009 final to hand Joe Public the crown with a 3-2 win.

Connection, who last had their hands on the FA Trophy by defeating Couva rivals Central FC in the 2013/14 final on penalties, must host ECFU side Tamana United from 5pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Sunday 17 September while Club Sando, Eve’s present club, must travel against Northern FA side Cultural Roots from 4:30pm at Dibe Recreation Ground in St. James on the same day.

Three-time former winners San Juan Jabloteh will tackle EFA side La Horquetta XF from 4pm at the Larry Gomes Stadium on Saturday while six-time former champions Defence Force must face NFA’s Belmont FC from 5pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Sunday.

Police FC, another Pro League campaigner and three-time former winners, and WASA, the 2006 champions, will meet from 5pm at WASA Ground in St. Joseph on Sunday while Point Fortin Civic, the 1969 champions, are to travel to the Maloney Recreation Ground against EFA side Red Hill FC from 4pm on the same day.

Since the debut of the professional teams into the FA Trophy competition in 1999, clubs from the former Professional Football League (PFL) and the current Pro League have won the trophy in all but 2006 when WASA became surprise winners. WASA defeated two top flight clubs including North East Stars 4-2 on penalties in the final following a 3-3 draw.

FA Trophy 2017
Full Round of 64 match-ups

(Home teams are listed first)

(Saturday 16 September 2017)
Central FC (Pro League) vs Morvant Caledonia United (Pro League), 4pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

San Juan Jabloteh (Pro League) vs La Horquetta XF (EFA), 4pm, Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar;

Siparia Spurs (SL) vs North East Stars (Pro League), 4pm, Palo Seco Recreation Ground, Palo Seco;

Eagles FC (CFA) vs Sangre Grande Dream Team (ECFU), 4pm, Africa Ground, Enterprise;

D’Marie Hill Youths (ECFU) vs Guaya United (Super League), 4pm, D’Marie Hill Recreation Ground, Sangre Grande;

Malta Carib Alcons (NFA) vs UTT (SL), 4pm, UTT Ground, O’Meara;

Fire Service FC (CFA) vs Black Rock FC (TFA), 4pm, Woodford Lodge, Chaguanas;

Manzan United (ECFU) vs Prisons FC (SL), 4pm, Manzanilla Recreation Ground;

1976 FC Phoenix (SL) vs Goal City FC (TFA), 5pm, Bon Accord Recreation Ground, Tobago;

Perseverance Ball Runners (CFA) Erin FC (SFA), 4pm, New Settlement Ground, Chaguanas;

Biche United (ECFU) vs Trinity Rangers (EFA), 4pm, Biche Recreation Ground, Biche;

QPCC (SL) vs FC FC Santa Rosa (SL), 4pm, St. Anthony’s Grounds, Westmoorings;

Petit Valley United (SL) vs Cunupia FC (SL), 4pm, Diego Martin North Secondary, Diego Martin;

Central Soccer World (CFA) vs Harlem Strikers (CFA), 4pm, St. Mary’s Ground, Freeport;

Calder Hall FC (TFA) vs Bethel FC (SL), 6pm, Mt. Pleasant Recreation Ground, Tobago;

Serial Strikers (SFA) vs Pitchmen FC (SFA), 4pm, Lachoos Road Recreation Facility, Penal.

(Sunday 17 September 2017)
W Connection (Pro League) vs Tamana United (ECFU), 5pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

St. Ann’s Rangers (Pro League) vs Perseverance Ball Runners (CFA), 4pm, St. Augustine Senior Secondary Ground;

Cultural Roots (NFA) vs Club Sando (Pro League), 4:30pm, Dibe Recreation Ground, St. James;

Red Hill FC (EFA) vs Point Fortin Civic (Pro League), 4pm, Maloney Recreation Ground, Maloney;

Belmont FC (NFA) vs Defence Force (Pro League), 5pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium training field;

WASA FC (SL) vs Police FC (Pro League), 5pm, WASA Ground, St. Joseph;

Santa Flora FC (SFA) vs Harlem Strikers (SL), 4pm, Santa Flora Ground, Santa Flora;

RSSR (NFA) vs Signal Hill United (THA), 4pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

San Fernando Giants (SFA) vs St. Francois Nationals (NFA), 4pm, Union Recreation Ground, Claxton Bay;

Club Sando Moruga (SL) vs Perseverance United (CFA), 4pm, Grand Chemin Recreation Ground, Moruga;

Leeds FC (TFA) vs Creek SCC (EFA), 4pm, Mt. Pleasant Recreation Ground, Tobago;

Step by Step Maple (NFA) vs Stokely Vale FC (SL), 3:30pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium training field;

Central 500 Spartans (SL) vs Marabella Family Crisis Centre (SL), 4pm, Edinburgh 500 Recreation Ground, Chaguanas;

Defence Force FC (SL) vs Youth Stars (SL), 4pm, Defence Force Headquarters Ground, Chaguarams;

Pele Pele (SFA) vs Police FC (SL), 4pm, La Brea Recreation Facility;

WASA FC (EFA) vs FC Maloney (EFA), 3pm, WASA Ground, St. Joseph.