Phoenix, Stokely Vale advances into Toyota Classic quarters

Phoenix, Stokely Vale advances into Toyota Classic quartersTobagonian clubs Tobago Phoenix and Stokely Vale advanced into the quarter-final round of the 2011 Toyota Classic with comfortable 3-1 victories over Super League compatriots Joe Public and WASA FC respectively on Tuesday afternoon.

Not only did the Tobagonians register matching results.

It was actually come-from-behind victories in both instances as Tobago Phoenix advanced to take on Digicel Pro League Championship second positioned W Connection on Friday from 6pm at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in the quarter-final round.

And in the second quarter-final match of the double header at the Marabella venue, Stokely Vale will take on Digicel Pro League Championship leaders T&TEC FC from 8pm.

Michael Celestine had WASA up in the 31st minute with a penalty strike at the Larry Gomes Stadium on Tuesday, but three late second half goals by Stokely Vale saw the second positioned Super League outfit get past the third positioned ‘water boys’.

Krishawn Joseph leveled the scores with a penalty in the 71st minute before Rundell Winchester registered an item in the 78th minute and Jerron Quashie sealed the 3-1 victory in the 89th minute.

And at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Phoenix registered an upset with Dominique Kerr netting a double with items on either side of the half (43rd and 56th minutes) after the Super League leaders Joe Public had opened the scoring in the 39th minute with a strike by Ricardo Bennett. Phoenix’s Le’Jandro Williams wrapped up the scoring in the 90th minute for the 3-1 win concreting a second Tobago club into the quarter-final round.

2011 Toyota Classic
Preliminary Round results
Joe Public 1—3 Tobago Phoenix
Ricardo Bennett 39’ ; Dominique Kerr 43’, 56’, Le’Jandro Williams 90’

WASA FC 1—3 Stokely Vale
Michael Celestine 31’(pen)  ; Krishawn Joseph 71(pen), Rundell Winchester 78’, Jerron Quashie 89’

St. Ann’s Rangers 1—0 Eagles United
Devon James 76’(own goal)

San Juan Jabloteh 5—0 Real Maracas
Willis Plaza 9’, 81’ 85’ Hector Sam 34’, Luke Gullick 36’

North East Stars 4—3 Westside Stars
Kaydion Gabriel 14’, 51’, Kevin Jagdeosingh 20’, 59’  ;  Kareem Freitas 11’, Christian Freitas 72’, Kevon Dove 82’

Caledonia AIA 1—0 Club Sando
Trayon Bobb 75’